RSS

The Addams Family ~ 1991

12 Jul

I grew up watching Carolyn Jones and John Astin as the Addamses. I loved the Addams Family TV show as a kid, and I was at first apprehensive of seeing it in a movie format. But what I got from The Addams Family was a wonderful film, and performances by the late Raul Julia, Anjelica Hueston and Christopher Lloyd that were incredible. When I say incredible, I mean that they lived up to my expectations. Julia was perfect as the zany, patriarch Gomez Addams, and Angelica gave Morticia a whole new depth that we missed in the TV show. As for Lloyd’s portrayal of Uncle Fester, well he was brilliant.

Not everything about this film did I really love though. Jimmy Workman, who played Pugsley was not believable, he seemed very naive and aloof throughout the film. Christina Ricci was just okay as Wednesday Addams, but I seen a little too much Winona Ryder from Beetlejuice in her portrayal. The other stars of the film were a little over-the-top, but this is the Addams family. Dan Hedaya was way over acted, he almost annoyed me throughout the film.

What now has become a classic TV show, brought to feature length film, I think The Addams Family was right on the mark. B+
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 12, 2007 in 1991, Comedy, Fantasy

 

Leave a Reply

 
