RSS

Fav Films of the 60’s ~ #8 ~ West Side Story

29 Jun

Loosely based on William Shakespeare’s Romeo & Juliet, I loved West Side Story. The singing, then dancing, as a kid I would produce neighborhood plays always trying to recreate West Side Story. Most of my neighborhood friends had no idea what it was, but I felt an intense need to educate them about the theater. So when the film was released and shown on TV several years later, suddenly the guys that were making fun of me, wanted to know more about West Side Story.

As I watch it now, it seems so dated, but still so clear in my memory. Natalie Wood as Maria was beautiful, even if I learnt later that her singing voice was dubbed in. Rita Moreno was spectacular, and the Academy agreed and the guys? My favorite was George Chakiris, who also won an Oscar. One question I have now about this film is…Did the guys really wear pants that tight back then??
 

Leave a Reply

 
