RSS

Top 10 Horror Movies

06 Oct

I love lists! So in accordance to this months theme of Horror Movies, I thought I’d list my top 10 favorite horror movies. I am sure that there are many other movies that are much better than these, but hey, it’s my list…

10)PHANTASM: I know, it has no plot but it is gory, and just horrorific. Kind of silly too, but isn’t that what B-movies are all about?

9) BRAM STOKERS DRACULA: 1992 Gary Oldham is perfect. I loved his Dracula! He has all the qualities of what I envisioned Dracula to be.

8) THE EXORSIST: What horror movie list would not be complete without Linda Blair’s head turning and all that mucky green shit spewing from her mouth. Honestly though, when I saw this for the first time I was scared shitless.

7) WRONG TURN: This is a newer horror flick, but it is probably going to become one of those cult classics. Plus Desmond Harrington is just plain HOT!

6) FRANKENSTEIN: The original. Nothing can compare.

5) A NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET: Cinema’s first introduction to Freddy was the best and the scariest. After the first all the other Nightmare’s were pale in comparison.

4) TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE: The original and the re-make are both excellent. I don’t know which I prefer more. Of course Mike Vogel in the remake makes it more watchable.

3) THE SHINING: I know the movie is not half as good as Stephen King’s book, but Jack Nicholson is supurb as always. Shelly Duvall is totally fantastic (Her best work, ever! well maybe Olive Oyl with Robin Williams in Popeye, talk about horror movies!)

2) INTERVIEW WITH A VAMPIRE: Based on the book of the same name by one of my favorite authors, Anne Rice. I’ve seen this movie so many times I can’t count. I love the way that the movie makes you love the Vampires. Even though I think Tom Cruise as Lestat is somewhat far-fetched. Brad Pitt was tremendous and Kirstin Dunst was extrodinary.

1) DAWN OF THE DEAD: 1978 “When there’s no more room in hell, the dead will walk the earth” George Romero is by far one of the greatest if not the greatest cinematic horror writers ever. This movie came out the year I graduated High School and the first time I saw it was on the huge Drive In movie screen. I couldn’t sleep for days afterwards. The re-make was okay, but the original is flawless in making you scream.
 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 6, 2006 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Top 10 Horror Movies

  1. GorillaSushi

    October 27, 2006 at 9:41 pm

    I agree with every one excet The Excorcist. For some reason that movie just bores me to death (nice pun, huh?)

     

Leave a Reply

 
