RSS

Best Actor Predictions

14 Aug

As a movie fan, and particularly a fan of men in film, one of my greatest pleasures is the Academy Awards. Every year since I was a young kid I have watched to show, and had my predictions sitting there with me to see how I did in guessing the winner. Now that I’m an adult and a blogger, I’ve decided to get into the game early and begin predicting the nominations as well as the winners.

We are now about halfway through the movie season, and so what better time than to start thinking about who will get the nod this year in the Best Actor category.

So far this year I have not seen anything close to Phillip Seymour Hoffman’s role in last year’s Capote. But I do think that this year will be just as exciting. So here are my Early Nom Predictions for this years Best Actor award…

Even though he is relatively new to Hollywood, Ryan Gosling is getting a lot of attention this year as his portrayal of a inner-city teacher who just happens to also have a drug habit. His acting is superb and if he doesn’t get a nod this year I am certain he will be a force to reckon with in the future. So for my first pick, I chose Ryan Gosling in Half Nelson.

Brad Pitt has been around a while now, and he has received a lot of attention over the past 15 months with the whole “Brangelina” thing. Unfortunately Brad has not received that type of attention with the Academy. I think this year it is going to be a different story. With two major film roles this year, I think it is his time. So for prediction #2 I go for Brad Pitt in Babel.

One of Brad’s movie peers, Matt Damon has also been overlooked but as Brad, I do think Matt will be noticed as well. His portrayal of an undercover mobster in the police department is splendid in The Departed, and his role in The Good Shepherd has already received a lot of attention. So pick #3 will be Matt Damon for either The Departed of The Good Shepherd

As I have already indicated, this year’s Best Actor field is not as easy to predict as last years, so the next to predictions are just plain guesses, but isn’t that what this is anyway, a guessing game? One of Hollywoods best actors has been nominated but has yet to win, and I think it is high time this guy gets his due. So I’m going to say he will get a nod this year, Forest Whitaker for his role in The Last King of Scotland.

My last prediction is going out on a limb, but the Academy has a heart for actors and actresses that tend to play against their former roles, and Will Smith has certainly achieved that in this year’s movie, Pursuit of Happyness.

Of course I have to have a back-up prediction, and I think his stature with the academy could land him right back into the line-up, Sean Penn in All the Kings Men.

So there you have it, my predictions for the Best Actor Oscar for 2006. To summarize:
Ryan Gosling/Half Nelson
Brad Pitt/Babel
Matt Damon/The Departed or Good Shepherd
Forest Whitaker/Last King of Scotland
Will Smith/Pursuit of Happyness
and back up: Sean Penn/All the Kings Men

These may change as more movies are released, and I will update my picks until October 30th, then I will no longer change them and see how I fared.
Stayed tuned for my Best Actor in a Supporting Role Predictions.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 14, 2006 in Actors, Oscar Watch

 

Leave a Reply

 
